Lamentations of An Elder Pine

20130722-1916321

As a sapling, the She-Spirit welcomed me
She cried with joy at my birth
And comforted and protected
Like a goddess in the breeze

As I grew, the mighty elder pines told
of the great moose, the caribou and the swan,
Of all God’s creatures
many only a memory in their dreams

So much as changed
The great elders are gone
Logged for lumber or burned by fires
Their spirit stolen and consumed
For the pale man’s selfish desires

I have stood here many a year
For I am the greatest pine on this lake
Sharing my boughs with only the wise eagle
Who unlike the loud, ravenous pale man
Shows me the respect I deserve and require

Picture and words from The Bison in the Woods (c) 2016

5 thoughts on “Lamentations of An Elder Pine

  1. Much wisdom in this beautiful poem, reminders of being less loud, and less ravenous, greedy Beasts that we are. We should never forget what this world does for our Spirit. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

